The Doll House



Doll House, originally uploaded by GinaMoe.

Ahh the cliché and every architecture school admission councilors worst nightmare. The Legos and architecture essay. I once heard that the essays at a select school were perused for the Lego introduction and the applications were tossed. Well lucky for me I hated Legos I gave up early on them after a few frustrated attempts to separate two identical pieces. Later they introduced a “separating tool” but by then I was over it.
I also had some great distractions; I found one of them in the attic last week. My grandmother built me a massive dollhouse for Christmas when I was young. I spent the following ten years thumbing through catalogs, tearing out pages, and begging for different types of furniture and accessories. I’ve decorated, moved and wallpapered it a number of times over. My parents gave me full creative freedom even when I insisted on yellow curtains and a giant gothic bed in the living room.
I discovered it in the attic a few weeks ago I’ve been thinking about it more and more. Do little girls still play with dollhouses? What’s the shinny new modern version of a doll house? Am I wrong to be nostalgic about something that was meant to train little girls to make good homes? Granted I am over thinking it a bit. I also wonder what is going to happen to my 5,000 square inch colonial. Little girls and their dollhouses are cute, grown women and dollhouses is just creepy.