Snow Day: Snow Shoeing



Snow Day, originally uploaded by GinaMoe.

Finally a snow day! I seem to be finding myself stranded due to the snow a lot lately. I’ve been cooped up in the house all day so I had a break to pluck out a blog post. Last week thanks to a burst of early March snow and an overzealous SUV driver I ended up in a ditch with my mothers Honda. It still amazes me how fast people try to take turns when their is an inch of snow on the road, to add injury the SUV that forced me into the ditch sped away once he was clear of danger. boo.

I’ll keep the ranting to a minimum but I must say, it does not matter how big your car/sub/mini van/truck is we will all slide on ice. So please SLOW DOWN!

Anyhow while sitting in a ditch waiting for AAA traffic whizzed by and I was unaware of a three car accident just twenty feet from me. I had been sitting in my car for twenty minutes when I started seeing fire trucks, ambulances, and sheriffs. This was not right it was to much for simply a car in a ditch, it happens all the time in NY. So I crawled out of the car in my gym shorts and sneakers only to alarm a group of firefighters standing near by. They quickly came over and:
“No I was not in the accident…no I am not injured….I’m just waiting for a tow truck….yes I know what carbon monoxide is….”

So standing in the heavy snow in shorts is chilling and they made me crawl into the back of a warm Jeep to wait. Until the tow truck came I sat in the back with two volunteer firefighters.

Did I mention I love the snow….